Governance Team of the Year, Leading Edge Award

Governance Team of the Year, Leading Edge Award 2020
Posted On: Friday, December 4, 2020


(Pictured from left: Brantley Porter, Dr. Donna McMullan, Guy Dean Benson, Ronald K. Hopkins, Willie L. Hughey, Lisa Richmond, Dr. John Jackson, Angela D'Zamko)

The Jefferson Board of Education was nominated for the 2020 Governance Team of the Year Award and named a winner of the 2020 Leading Edge Award by the Georgia School Boards Association.

The GSBA Governance Team of the Year Award is a prestigious award that honors the top board and superintendent team that demonstrates a commitment to student achievement and enhancing the trust and support for public education in the community. 

The Governance Team of the Year Award was created by GSBA in 2018. The JCS Board of Education has been nominated each year since the start of the award. 

“We feel very fortunate to have been nominated and to continue to be one of the best school systems in the State of Georgia,” JCS Board Chairman Ronald K. Hopkins said. 

GSBA started the Leading Edge Award in 2019. This award is given to school districts who demonstrate innovative ways to implement projects and programs that have a significantly positive impact on student achievement and engagement.

In 2019, the Jefferson City School District earned the Leading Edge Award for the BioSTEAM program and the Wetlands. This year, the District earned the 2020 Leading Edge Award for their focus on Social and Emotional Learning. 

“You have to have the staff that’s driving and pulling the system to have a zeal to want to see achievement,” JCS Board Vice Chairman Willie Hughey said. “We’ve been able to get some really, really good people to come here, and it’s been that way for a long time.”

JCS implements Social and Emotional Learning across the District and equips the schools with full-time school psychologists, social workers, and student/family support services. 

Thank you to Carroll Daniel Construction Company for hosting an honorary dinner for the GSBA Governance Team of the Year Award ceremony. 







Back to School News       Print